Caregivers Nova Scotia Association (CNS) Annual General Meeting 2013 – 2014 Minutes

Saturday, June 14, 2014 10:00 am – 11:45 am Public Archives of Nova Scotia 6016 University Avenue Halifax, NS

- 1. donalee Moulton, President, welcomed the 44 members in attendance. Everyone introduced himself or herself.
- 2. A quorum was declared.
- 3. The voting procedures as specified in the by-laws were explained. At registration each participant's membership was verified with the CNS database. Each eligible member was given an AGM package, a voting card, a 2014 2015 Board of Directors Nominations List with biographies, and a ballot for up to 15 names.
- Approval of 2012 2013 AGM minutes
 Motion by Elizabeth McGibbon to accept the minutes, seconded by Nila Ipson. Motion carried with one abstention.
- 5. President's Report donalee Moulton The President delivered her report verbally. She stated that it had been a very busy year at CNS with the Board meeting seven times, that the Board had been working on new by-laws but they were not ready at this time, and that a major policy review was still required. Motion to accept the report made by Frank Letourneau, seconded by Cyndee MacPhee. Questions were raised, e.g., Why her report was not in written format. The President replied that she was out of town and her computer did not work that morning. Motion carried.
- 6. Executive Director's Report Angus Campbell The Executive Director presented his report and highlighted a number of successes of the last year including new staff, new resources, and an increase in Support Group locations and participants. Motion by Nila Ipson to accept the Executive Director's Report, seconded by Randall Brooks. Motion carried.

- 7. Auditor's Report and Financial Statements Angus Campbell In the absence of a treasurer, Angus Campbell presented the Auditor's Report and Financial Statements. Elizabeth McGibbon motioned to accept the report, seconded by James McRae. Questions were raised if the auditors had submitted any comments or recommendations in a separate letter, as is standard practice. The Executive Director responded that they had brought forward three issues all relating to Board Governance:
 - a. Board Mileage Expense Policy
 - b. Missing Board Minutes for May 2013 and June 2013 especially important when financial decisions had been made
 - c. Signing Authority and Cheque Authorization Motion carried.
- Proposed Budget 2014 2015 Angus Campbell
 In the absence of a treasurer, Angus Campbell presented the Proposed Budget. Motion by James McRae to accept, seconded by Lynn Lowe. Motion carried.
- Appointment of Auditors for ensuing year Angus Campbell
 Motion by Angus Campbell to accept AC Hunter, Tellier, Belgrave,
 Adamson Chartered Accountants as auditors for 2014 2015, seconded
 by Mary Burey. Motion carried.
- 10. Election of Directors

Under the current by-laws all directors' terms are for one year. Consequently all 10 existing Board directors retired at the end of the term. A call for nominations from the floor was made three times.

The following members were elected.

Larry Baxter
Mary Burey
Anne Corbin
Ruth deMolitor
Maria Gillan
Dr. Marie-Claude Grégoire
Lynn Lowe
Mary Elizabeth MacLellan
James McRae
Dr. Uzma Naeem
Dr. Heather Robertson
Kathleen Rothwell
Mike Sangster
Bill Tait
Jean Willison

11. Election of Executive Officers

The following Directors were elected Mary Elizabeth MacLellan, President Kathleen Rothwell, Vice-President Jean Willison, Secretary James McRae, Treasurer

12. Adjournment Motion to adjourn by Brenda Sangster